Re: Proper weighting

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ California Scuba Diving BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Ken Kurtis on September 11, 2000 at 12:28:58:

In Reply to: Re: Diver Injured/The Facts (long & detailed) posted by msblucow on September 11, 2000 at 07:05:00:

(msblucow asked) Ken . . . what's the best way to check if you're overweighted?

Here's the method I've been teaching for 20 years.

1. Put on your wetsuit (or drysuit), hood, booties, gloves, mask, snorkel, and fins.
2. Do not put on your tank or BC. kep them out of the equation. This way, we weight your for your personal buoyancy and that of the wetsuit, eliminating problems of trapped air in the BC or changes in the buoyancy of the tank 9which should be negative at the start of the dive anyhow).
3. Assuming you're wearing a 6-7mm suit, start with 10% of your body weight plus 2 or 3 pounds. (I think 6-8 over 10% is too much as a starting point.)
4. Float erect in the water, snorkel in your mouth, feet underneath you.
5. On a full breath of air, you should float at your chin.
6. On a full exhale, you should sink to the top of your head or even start to go under.
7. If you cannot sink on a full exhale, add some weight. Generally, from chin to top of head is about 10 pounds of buoyancy. If you only sink to your nose, add about 5 pounds. If you only sink to your eyebrows, add 3 pounds.
8. If on a full inhale you can't keep your mouth above the water, or if you start plummeting on a full exhale, you've got on too much weight. Take some off (3-5 pounds to start, then repeat #1-8.)
9. IMHO (although there will be exceptions) if you're wearing more than 15% of your body weight in lead, you've probably got too much on.

"I need more weight!!" is the cry of the chronically over-inflated diver, unable to descend. There are three reasons why you can't get down:

1. You are truly underweighted (which is why we have you do this drill in the first place).
2. You're trapping air in the BC.