Re: Nitrox and the *legal liability issue*

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ California Scuba Diving BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Pat Fousek on February 27, 2001 at 15:32:33:

In Reply to: Nitrox and the *legal liability issue* posted by MHK on February 26, 2001 at 15:34:32:

Hello to All,

I want to clarify some things posted in this chain so a PADI Member, or any dive professional for that matter, does not misunderstand or misinterpret the information here. Be prepared - for those of you who know me, you know I'm long winded.

First though, I should state that I am not an attorney. I have been the director of legal affairs at PADI for several years and worked in the legal department (in one position or another) for 11 years now. The information I provided to Ken, Michael and to anyone else who calls me is not legal advice and not intended to be. I am also a PADI Instructor (over 15 years).

I talked with Michael on Monday re potential legal liability of a non-Nitrox divemaster/instructor supervising a nitrox dive. His initial question, if I recall correctly, was whether it would be covered under the insurance policy. I responded that this would not be an issue. There is no warranty in the policy (the PADI-sponsored policy offered by CNA through Vicencia & Buckley) that requires the insured to have a specific certification in order to supervise a dive. This may be where I would have emphatically said "ABSOLUTELY." However, I would suggest each dive professional check with his/her insurance agent and/or read the policy carefully. There are warranties (and exclusions as have been pointed out) of which you need to be aware.