Tax deductibility of Chamber Day Contributions

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ California Scuba Diving BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by MHK on March 22, 2001 at 14:32:29:

Many of you know that I'm an accountant for a living, and in my former life I was an IRS agent and I've been getting a few questions about the deductibility of chamber day/evening, challenge donations.

Let me address them as best as I can, subject to a few disclaimers:

1) I am NOT rendering a legal analysis on behalf of the Catalina Hyperbaric Chamber, I'm speaking on my behalf only;

2) I encourage everyone to consult their own tax advisor.

Pursuant to Internal Revenue Code Section 170(a)(1) "There shall be allowed as a deduction any charitable contribution... payment of which is made in the taxable year."

170(c)(1) further provides " For purposes of this section, the term " charitable contribution means a contribution of gift to or for the use of..

(D) which is not disqualified for tex exemption under 501(c)(3)attempting to influence legislation..."

The Catalina Hyperbaric Chamber is a qualified 501(c)(3) charitable organization and as such CERTAIN [ emphasis added} contributions are tax deductible.

The reason that I note CERTAIN, NOT ALL, is because the regulations promulgated under Reg. Sec. 1.170A-1(h) state in pertinent part " No part of a payment that a taxpayer makes to or for the use of an organization described in 170(c) that is in consideration for goods or services is a contribution or gift."

In plain english, that means that you can only deduct an amout exceeding the fair market value for the goods or services received.