Aluminimum in New Zealand Part 1 & 2

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ California Scuba Diving BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by ptf on October 23, 2001 at 07:11:38:

Some stuff that I pulled up for my local shop in aug99.
there are 3 editorials to look into and one comment by
Luxfer. I would suggest that you look at the Luxfer
via the link as they have a cool pic of a tank that
had a slight failure and tore off the leg of the filler!

It ain't just in Florida Ken!
patrick

http://www.divenewzealand.com/53tank1.html
http://www.divenewzealand.com/53tank2.html

http://www.divenewzealand.com/53tank1.html
Are Aluminium Cylinders Safe?
Interview with Guy Kidd, The Dive Centre, Auckland
By Dave Moran

Guy, how long have you been involved in the dive industry, and how long have you been
testing dive cylinders?
I’ve been earning my living through diving for close to 40 years now. We started testing cylinders right
from the word go, before there were any rules and regulations, just for our own peace of mind because
we were the fellows that had to fill them. When I was in the Navy we tested them at the light machine
shop. They had a pump that could hydraulically pump cylinders in those days. We ended up getting an
engineer by the name of Jack Hanson, who was entrepreneurial in the mid ‘60s – who built a hand pump
that we purchased which enabled us to pump tanks hydraulically. In those days they were steel tanks with
a working pressure of 2250psi. We would pump them to 1.5 times their working pressure, in other words
3375psi, and measure the stretch. We used to do that once every five years. Eventually this became the
recognised standard and the Department of Labour got in on the act and formalised it all. Since those
days we’ve more or less followed Australia, whatever has been good enough for the Aussies the NZ
Department of Labour just copycatted. That’s why we’ve ended up with a strong formula for testing
cylinders.