Re: Hunters are not low-impact. to the gene pool

Great Dive Trips at Bargain Prices with the Sea Divers

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ California Scuba Diving BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Finfan on October 31, 2002 at 08:00:49:

In Reply to: Re: Hunters are not low-impact. to the gene pool posted by Chuck Tribolet on October 30, 2002 at 21:33:10:

I can't speak to the PT Lobo's reserve since I have no knowledge of it and have never dove the area, but as far as the comment regarding records going until the species crashes - I think we would all agree that a principal species behind the reserve concept is resident shallow water rockfish. So if we can agree that DFG believes the species has crashed enough to implement all of these new rules and added the reserves can you explain why among the current pending world records submitted to the IGFA this year (in fact in the summer of 2002) there are several rockfish records up for certification (including lingcod)?

Also, I read your post above and you said the smart fishermen fish just outside the reserve for the big ones. We'll I thought the reserve concept pitched for the channel islands was based in concept on raising a population to re-populate deplited areas throughout the channel islands. If that is so and you, along with the Brad's and Blue cow's of the world are right about how effective sportfishermen are in decimating the biggest and the brightest then how exactly does a fish grown in the reserve re-populate surrounding waters? I assume the sportfishermen have caught it once it leaves the reserve. Are you now saying that sportfishermen aren't that effective and therefore aren't as big an impact as you have stated before?