Small boat anchor checkin'

Outer Bamnks diving on the Great Escape Southern California Live-Aboard Dive Boat

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ California Scuba Diving BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Ross-O on October 26, 2004 at 14:40:48:

In Reply to: Ditto Chucks rules... posted by ptf on October 26, 2004 at 13:12:20:

Phil and I have lots of time on small boats. We usually put everyone in the water at the same time and leave the boat unattended topside.

The first order of business is to make sure you have enough rope/chain/anchor for the boat. Mark Wisch's book gives some good advice on proper ground tackle for fishing boats (http://www.pacificedgepress.com/). I'm no expert in this area, but it seems that what is considered adequate for a fishing boat and a dive boat (used in the manner that we use them) is probably 2 different things.

I doubled the amount of chain that Mark's book recommends and I now have 50' of 5/16"-3/8" chain and a 7.5kg Bruce with 260' of rope on my 24 Skippy. So far it seems to work well. 25' of chain was insufficient on my boat and we would drag anchor like crazy.

The second order of business on the dive is to check the anchor. I don't dig it in under power before the dive b/c I'm usually trying to drop right on or near a wreck and I don't want to drag it too far from the wreck should it not hook up immediately. Once I get to the bottom, I usually hook it into the wreck. If there's no wreck/rocks to hook to, I make sure the anchor is dug in and I want to see most all of the laying chain flat on the bottom. If I'm not fairly convinced that the boat will still be there when I come back, we call the dive or come up with some other idea to secure it. (this is so much scarier when it's your own boat!)