Trip Report and Photos: Wrecks and Reefs on the Sundiver

AquaFlite Custom Wetsuits, Dive Skins, and Dive Parkas

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ California Scuba Diving BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Elaine on November 08, 2004 at 00:10:34:

On Friday November 5th, 2004 I went on the Sundiver Open Boat. Captain Ray, pictured below, welcomed us on board.

A pleasant surprise for me was that Harold Buchanan was one of the passengers. Harold was one of the original crew members/DM’s on the Pacific Dream, and prior to that on the Atlantis (Remember those dive boats?). For anyone who may remember Harold, this is what he looks like today.

We spent our day diving in the vicinity of Palos Verdes. All dive sites were ones that I have never done before. Everyone on board was an advanced diver, so our stops were picked accordingly.

Our first dive of the day was at one of Captain Ray’s secret wreck spots. Captain Ray thinks that this is the wreck of a 54 foot, steel hulled, fishing boat that sank in 1980, named the African Queen. This wreck has not yet been positively identified, however.

To make the dive a down line, with a float on one end and a 50 lb weight on the other, was dropped next to the wreck. Captain Ray explained that this helps to avoid anchor entanglements. The dive was then done by live drop off and pick up. These are photos of our down line.