diver.net

Disappointing Optiquatics Trip

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ California Scuba Diving BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by msblucow on August 26, 2007 at 15:03:50:

I know people have raved about their experience on Optiquatics trips, so I'm a bit hesitant to post a negative review, but from feedback I've gotten from other customers, I don't think my experience may be that unique.

I've been shooting UW for about 7 years - first with a Motormarine IIex and then with a housed nikon f4 (which I still have - I haven't made the switch to digital yet). I feel like I know the basics, but I keep getting inconsistant results which I've found frustrating. I wanted a situation where I could get feedback in an intensive learning environement. So I ended up booking a 3-day Optiquatics trip to the Northern Channel Islands.

First the good news - The Peace Boat was fantastic. The crew and boat could not be beat. They hustled like crazy, fed us continuously and were very helpful with any gear problems people had. They were also very knowledgeable and sensitive about handling expensive camera gear.

The people on the trip were also great. It was a very small group - only 8 of us - and everyone but myself and one other person had been diving with Optiquatics before. There were actually three of us shooting film, which was a welcome surprise. Everyone else was shooting digital, including one passenger who brought all her computer and scanning gear and scanned slides as soon as they came out of the E-6 processing! I learned more than a few helpful hints from her and some of the other passengers.