diver.net

Gotta wonder about the times he wasn't caught


Outer Bamnks diving on the Great Escape Southern California Live-Aboard Dive Boat


[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ California Scuba Diving BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Walt on January 21, 2008 at 12:51:22:

In Reply to: Probation? posted by Jim on January 21, 2008 at 07:17:27:

Under the California Code of Regulations, set by the state Legislature, the punishment for any violation involving abalone is a minimum fine of $15,000 and maximum of $40,000. This has led to vehicle confiscations.

Fines for petty sport violations in Sonoma County have been standardized at $500 for a violation involving one abalone with $250 added for each additional abalone; e.g., four undersized abalone equates to a $1250 fine (Halsey, 7/24/97 presentation). If violations are associated with sport to commercial poaching, punishment for first time offenders has resulted in jail time with fines starting at $3,000.

Why is the bail just $3,000 - its not a first offense? For a poacher that's just a day's work. Wonder if the judge in Sonoma has read the law?



Follow Ups:


Name:
E-Mail:
Subject:
Message:
Optional Link URL:
Optional Link Title:
Optional Image URL:
Post Background Color: White     Black
Post Area Page Width: Normal   Full
You must type in the
scrambled text key to
the right.
This is required to
help prevent spam bots
from flooding this BBS.
capcha
Text Key:

      


diver.net