diver.net

Ticket for having game in a MLPA taken outside the MLPA


JuJee Beads, handmade flamework glass beads


[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ California Scuba Diving BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Chris on August 25, 2008 at 19:27:21:

On Saturday August 23, 2008 the Pacific Star was at Santa Barbara Island. On the trip there were two divers who were spearfishing. The first two dives were in the open area at Hidden Reef and Shag Rock. The two divers took legal game at those spots. The third dive was in the MLPA area. Captain Dave announced it was closed, and the two divers who were spearfishing left their spearguns aboard the boat and went on sightseeing dives. During the dive DFG boarded the boat, and although no game was taken in the MLPA, the two divers and Captain Dave were issued citations possessing game in the MLPA.

When the MLPAs were implemented DFG met with the dive boat owners and said this would not happen. That the dive boats could move into MLPAs so long as no game was taken in those areas.

At some islands like San Miguel and Santa Barbara, the safe harbor when it becomes rough is in the MLPA. Does a captain and the divers now risk getting tickets for moving into safe harbor after a day of hunting?



Follow Ups:


Name:
E-Mail:
Subject:
Message:
Optional Link URL:
Optional Link Title:
Optional Image URL:
Post Background Color: White     Black
Post Area Page Width: Normal   Full
You must type in the
scrambled text key to
the right.
This is required to
help prevent spam bots
from flooding this BBS.
capcha
Text Key:

      


diver.net