Trip Report and Photos: Oil Rig Eureka on the Second Stage

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ California Scuba Diving BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Elaine on April 26, 2005 at 22:52:50:

Story and Photos © Elaine Jobin.
These may not be reproduced in part or whole without my advanced written permission.

On Saturday, April 23, 2005, I spent a day at the Oil Rig Eureka. Part of what makes a dive day special is the diving and the dive sites. The other part is the boat that you take to get there and that you spend so much time on during the surface intervals. I chose the Second Stage out of San Pedro for this trip. I have never done a trip on the Second Stage before. It is a fast six pack, similar to, and docked next to, the Psalty V.

After my initial gear schlep from the parking lot to the boat, crew helped with the transfer of the rest of my stuff. As I settled in, I found out that Dave Nesham and Todd Winner, both serious photogs, were the only other divers on this trip. There was plenty of room for the three of us to relax amongst our spread of photo gear.

Oil Rig Eureka on the Second Stage : by Elaine Jobin     Oil Rig Eureka on the Second Stage : by Elaine Jobin     

We enjoyed some Eggs Benedict (the new Pope breakfast special) and headed out at 7am.

Oil Rig Eureka on the Second Stage : by Elaine Jobin     Oil Rig Eureka on the Second Stage : by Elaine Jobin     

About 45 minutes later we were in position next to the Oil Rig Eureka

Oil Rig Eureka on the Second Stage : by Elaine Jobin