Re: EAN

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ California Scuba Diving BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by brianc on August 31, 2000 at 09:57:00:

In Reply to: My turn posted by seahunt on August 30, 2000 at 12:32:55:

First, let me say that seahunt's comments are the most objectively stated that I have seen here for a while. I read a lot of good/interesting comments on this board that are buried in emotional fury. I often come away from these threads thinking that someone has a lot to teach, but their style is so vicious that I would not want to be their student!
Second, let me say that I am no expert and have a lot to learn about West Coast diving. I moved out from South Florida last year. I was considered an "experienced" diver by shops, boats, and instructors there. My first couple of dives in N. CA kicked my ass! I went out and got some drysuit training (I still need more experience to be as comfortable as I am in a wetsuit, esp. on surface swims!). Now I'm about 2/3 of the way through DM training. I feel I have more to learn and told my instructor that I don't feel I should have the cert. or resposibility for students until my cold water skills are as unconciously comfortable as they are in warm water. Based on tourist divers in Florida, I used to think that CA divers were like bulls in a china shop, or reef. I now think CA divers are the most skilled and that I was just swimming in a bath tub!