Re: Poor training or lack of experience

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ California Scuba Diving BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Eric Poulas on October 19, 2000 at 17:38:03:

In Reply to: Re: Poor training or lack of experience posted by MHK on October 19, 2000 at 15:29:05:

I't may be true that I have a lot of experience compared to many. There are those that have even more. Even I know that a diver that refuses to learn and expand his knowlege base is a mediocre one. I'm in my late 50's right now and am just as active a diver as I was 20 years ago. I am fit enough not to require NITROX on every dive or dive force fins because they make my feet and legs feel better. I dive with as much zeal as those twentysomething kids on the two day trips doing 8 dives a day in wetsuits.
I used to dive solo. Please do not hold that against me. And that is what it is regardles if I am diving with 10 others without a buddy or leaving my buddy during the dive. Alone is alone, solo is alone, independent is alone. The end result is the same if I were to be in a life threatening situation. Maybe I would not die thanks to the skills I know and practice. I prefer to hedge my bet towards survival and dive with a buddy than not. You are by yourself when a problem happens like heartattack or something
else unforseen. Equipment problems are easily taken care of by yourself including what some might call "catastrophic" problems like losing a high pressure hose of joint or a reg that flat out dies and won't breathe. I used to have a set of Poseidon regulators for diving until the day one failed closed. I was able to safely get out of the crisis but it made me think long and hard about what kit pieces are better than others. I learned and continued on.