Perhaps a little additional insight

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ California Scuba Diving BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by digibum on April 30, 2004 at 07:10:49:

In Reply to: RESPONSIBILITY aka why did THEY leave floating in the sea... posted by Doug Williams on April 29, 2004 at 21:41:46:

First off, I was not on this dive but I do know Dan and I know Ray and I know the Ocean Adventures Staff (though, not the DM in question -- he's relatively new to the store). In fact, as a dive instructor, I've done training dives with Dan while working for Ocean Adventures. Dan is a novice level diver. He's been certified for a few years and goes on several local dives a year but like many divers, he has a job and other interests so he's not in the water every weekend or even every month. I would even go so far to say that if I had been the DM he would have been one of the people in the back of my mind that I paid a small bit of extra attention to. And based on my previous diving experiences with him, I remember him having equalization problems.

Now, all of this is to say that I think Dan did what was technically correct. Again, I wasn't there, I haven't spoken to him, any of the other divers on the boat, or the shop but he probably made an effort to descend, had difficulty, tried to work out the problem, and then aborted the dive. As Ken points out, 15 minutes seems like a long time but for someone who has slow clearing ears it's possible. I think it'll be interesting when they pull the computer and get his profile.

So what about Ray and the SunDiver? I think Ray runs a pretty good boat. I also know that Ray doesn't supply a DM and that the chartering dive shop is responsible for that. Whenever I have DM'd on Ray's boat he ALWAYS comes back and asks if we have a good head count before leaving a site. In that regard, I have no reason to believe that Ray acted differently than the norm and I can't see him being at fault here.