Re: Advice wanted for Maine-iacs first dive visit to Catalina Is.

Scuba Diving on the Great Escape Southern California Live-Aboard Dive Boat

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ California Scuba Diving BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by ptf on August 05, 2004 at 07:48:21:

In Reply to: Advice wanted for Maine-iacs first dive visit to Catalina Is. posted by Maine-ly2Scuba on August 05, 2004 at 05:34:35:

>Questions: Will a 5mm suit be adequate for early Sept.?
It depends on what water temp you were exposed to back in Maine. Right now the surface to about 20 feet is around 63F but below that it can drop down to 52. That is what I experienced this past weekend. I did a dive for 60 minutes, but then again i have been diving for close to 10 years and I dive in a dry suit...
>Can you recommend a dive company? and why them?
Pacific Wilderness - In the dive busines for over 30 years Just string the name together and add on .com
Ken Kurtis and Co at Reef Seekers Dive Co. in Beverly Hills, CA
I am sure others will chime in. Are you looking for a "tour guide" aka Dive Master to accompany you? Both these folks have a good size cadre of Instructors and DMs
>If you had to choose 2 dive locations on the island, what would you recommend to us?