diver.net

DAN Fatality Workshop

Outer Bamnks diving on the Great Escape Southern California Live-Aboard Dive Boat

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ California Scuba Diving BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Ken Kurtis on April 12, 2010 at 15:59:13:

I was in Raleigh-Durham last week for a DAN-sponsored workshop dealing with dive fatalties and what we as an industry and you as diver can do to lower the numbers. (Diving is an incredibly "safe" sport with only about 90 fatalities per year of US & Canadian divers, which is what DAN tracks, out of an estimated 1-3 million active divers, doing an estimated 10-30 million dives per year.)

The L.A. area, where we actually have a very comprehensive infrastructure to deal with these tragedies, was well-represented with Karl Huggins from the Catalina Hyperbaric Chamber, Gordon Boivin & Jim Pearson from the U.S. Coast Guard, Dave Carver from the L.A. County Sheriffs, and myself representing the L.A. County Corner (for whom I’m a forensic consultant). In addition, Duke University and DAN were well-represented, as were major training agencies (PADI, SSI, SDI/TDI, and BSAC - but surprisingly not NAUI), the U.S. Navy, other Coast Guard sectors, members of the scuba legal community, various other diving doctors, scuba investigators (Steve Barksy & Jeff Bozanic from the L.A. area), and other interested parties. Lots of brainpower and experience in the room.

Although the conference proceedings will be distilled and published down the road, there are two walk-always that I'd like to pass on to you now. Those deal with (1) Running out of air, and (2) Buddy separation.