Why We Don't Teach Beach Diving (full version)

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ California Scuba Diving BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Ken Kurtis on July 08, 2002 at 22:19:14:

John Moore wrote (further down): "Ken... though you didn't state it directly, the implication is that you don't beach dive in your basic OW class?!?! . . . Do you really certify people who've never made it through the surf??"

Yes . . . on all counts. Let me explain why and then open the floor up for discussion. (And please participate in the poll in the thread above this one.)

First of all, since when is beach diving the end-all-be-all measure of the competency of a diver? Now bear in mind, I'm NOT saying that beach diving doesn't teach you valuable skills. But since when did it become the Gold Standard?

As an instructor, I think I have two jobs. One is to teach people to dive safely. The second is to get them excited about this sport, so they'll CONTINUE to participate. I think beach diving works at a cross-purpose to that end.

I've yet to run into anyone who said, "The beach dive in my basic class was GREAT!!!! Much better than that crappy bvoat dive they made us do."

Don't forget that we have a limited amount of time (and even more so if you're involved in a "home study" or "quickie" course) to interact with our new divers. Relatively speaking . . . just about everyone's going to do boat dives once they're cettified but just about no one (relatively speaking) is a going to do beach dives.

I'd even offer this challenge to those of you who are avid beach divers: On a given day when you're diving, how many other divers are there at the beach? Of that number . . . how many are students in a class (basic or otherwise)?

Now I'm NOT saying that beach diving doesn't teach you valuable skills. But what I AM saying is that I don't think they're BASIC skills. I view them more as advanced training.