Beware of the hypocrites about "Solo" diving?

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ California Scuba Diving BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by Mike Meagher on September 05, 2000 at 21:44:54:

I've been looking at some of the comments about "solo" diving.

Some of you "experts" are disgusting.You know who you are.

Yes, you the instructor or dive shop owner,
who have been preaching buddy diving for so many years. You're also the same ones that sneak off on dive boat, when no one is looking, on opening night, or occasional beach dives and go "solo" once in a while. You've even occasionally will ditch your "buddy" once in a while.

As far as I'm concerned, most divers are in reality diving "solo" even
when a buddy is with them. The average diver (even the "advanced diver" with 100 dives under their belts) are generally worthless if "something" were to happen to you. When I was an instructor, I soon realized that I was in reality diving "solo" even when I had a basic class in the water. Did you ever think any of those "buddys" had the skill to take care of me? I think not.

I'm just tired of the crap.

I've been diving alone for many, many years. And during my early years, I had more problems when a "buddy" was around, than when I was diving "solo". The only time it makes sense to dive with a buddy is when you are over 35, when you get close to the risk of having a heart attack while diving. That way, your buddy can drag your body
(assuming they have a strong enough kick) back to the boat, so the next of kin have something to bury.

So.. you know who you are. The ones that used to say "multi level" diving is bad. Now, you do it all the time. You even sell "the wheel" or computers that now justify that its OK. Remember when you said that was bad?