Two novice divers rescued by Lifeguard at Leo Carillo

[ Follow Ups ] [ Post Followup ] [ California Scuba Diving BBS ] [ FAQ ]

Posted by JC on August 19, 2000 at 06:19:04:

I am a beginner diver and today I thought I would die. I was saved by a lifeguard who showed up in the nick of time.

My dive buddy and I got certified 2 months ago. Since then we have dove Shaw's Cove and La Janelle and had wonderful experiences. But today was the most intense, near death experience of my life.

We showed up at Leo Carillo (I had read about it in a dive book)and there was no one around. We looked for a lifeguard or other divers, but there were none. While making our dive plan, we noticed some of the waves were hitting about 4 feet. We decided to go ahead and put on our equipment, and keep an eye on the ocean to see if the waves changed. They did, we started seeing 2 foot waves with about 12 seconds in between them and figured we could handle that. We started into the water. As we headed out, got both fins on, I heard a whistle. I turned around and there was a lifeguard up on the cliff waving his arms. I didn't know if her wanted us to go out quicker to pass the breaking waves or come in or what. I yelled to my buddy who was a little ahead of me that I thought we should go back, there was a lifeguard, and so we headed back.

Then everything changed. The waves started getting bigger, we were right at/behind the break point - rising high with each one and coming back down. But as we swam closer to shore they started breaking on top of us, pushing us down. My buddy, who had been just ahead of me, was able to catch one and ride it in a ways to shore. They just continued to break on top of me.